Time Enough
 
Maybe the cold has finally come.

I woke up this morning, comfortably snuggled under all my blankets, and felt a bit chilled as I began to move around the house.  Outside my window, fog is peaking out from the low spots between the mountains and the sky is white and expressionless.  It looks like fall.  I even had hot chocolate and hot cereal for breakfast this morning.

The (late) arrival of fall, if this is the arrival of fall, reminds me of what is next to come: Winter.  And with winter, comes Christmas.  I have two weeks off at the end of December.  Since I didn’t expect to have a break at all, I came to Morocco with no plan for the holidays and was actually steeling myself for having to work through right through it.  So now what?  The idea stresses me out.  I would love to go home and see my family, but I definitely can’t afford that.  I could travel to Spain, which would be cheaper, but lonelier.  I am hoping I can get together with a few friends who are living abroad as well.  At the very least it would be nice to see a familiar face.

I don’t know what I am going to do, and not knowing stresses me out.  So, I set myself a deadline:  I need to decide by the end of October.  In the meantime, please feel free to send suggestions!!!
MOM
11/6/2009 02:43:50 am

Hey Alaina,
I wish I had the money to buy you a plane ticket home for Christmas. I just read this today because October was just a blur to me. Did you make a decision about what to do before the end of October? I miss you and love you.

Reply



Leave a Reply.