Time Enough
 
A while back I learned the Moroccan Arabic word for diarrhea, is-haal, and it has proven to be useful to me quite a few times.  It's a great word.  It comes from the Arabic word for "easy", presumably because when you have diarrhea, you don't have to work hard to do your business. 

Speaking of poop (and how often can one lead in with such a sentence!?), a few teachers at the ALC told me that roasted garlic, when taken as a suppository, is a great cure for is-haal.  I think I will stick with Imodium.  Or with the is-haal


Tomorrow I am heading to Rabat to spend the holidays with an old CLS friend that I met in Jordan.  I plan on cooking and baking and watching Christmas movies, although I am bringing my bathing suit too, just in case.  Don't be fooled: it's not traditional beach weather here.  But I hear people still surf with a wet suit, and I'm not opposed to giving it a try. 

I also have some big news: my little brother graduated from college!  It suddenly struck me today that now all 4 siblings are college grads.  Growing up, that seemed normal, inevitable.  But I realized that that's not true for a lot of people.  I'm glad I grew up with people who expected a lot out of me, who set high standards and then helped me reach them.  I'm also lucky to have such amazing and talented siblings.   Congratulations, Adam!  You did it!
MOM
12/29/2009 02:57:47 am

Okay. This post almost made me cry. First because I am sad that you have been sick but mostly because of what you said about all 4 siblings being College Grads. I guess I kind of expected it, too, but I also realize that is is a monumental accomplishment. I am so very proud of all 4 of my beautiful, smart, talented children. I love you.

Reply



Leave a Reply.