Time Enough
 
Unless their head has been lobbed off.  Today is Eid Al Adha, or Eid Kabir, the Big Holiday, and I just got back from watching our neighbors sacrifice their lamb.  I first met this lamb a few weeks ago, when it's bleets came wafting into my living room.  The sheep had been living in the interior balcony of my building.  It was an open, loft-style apartment which it shared with another sheep.  I stopped by one day, just to see how the new tenants were adjusting to their life in the big city.  Both seemed to be happy, but to miss the open spaces and flock they had left behind. 

This morning, however, when I went down to their small loft apartment, I found the sheep lying in a pool of his own blood, with his head severed from his body.  It was neither murder nor suicide; it was sacrifice.  I am told he will make many tasty meals during the next couple months. 

BsSaha!



Leave a Reply.