Time Enough
 

I haven't written in a while, but it's for a good reason.  I have been working a lot, exploring Japan a little, and sleeping even less.  But the good news is I am having a good time, enjoying my students and learning some Japanese.  And I don't have swine flu!  (Although one of my co-workers students did  claim to have SARS...)

I could catch you up on the past few weeks, but I think I will just give you a brief overview:  I worked, I went to a few Japanese baths, and I ate a lot of good (and interesting) food.  I also learned that if I ever get lonely, I can check out the local 'cat cafe' where I can pay a small fee for a few hours of feline companionship.  I  have also discovered that I love Japanese television.  They are so enthusiastic!  I have never seen anyone bite into a rice cake with such genuine pleasure...  And this is a TV show, not a commercial!  It's really addtive too- I could watch it for hours without blinking!  It's as mindnumbingly overstimulating as music videos... I love it!

It's funny the  things you suddeny need/don't need when living in a new place.  For instance, I never in a million years thought I could survive without a toaster or an oven of any kind.  But I also find myself buying things I never owned in the US.  The  other day, for instance, I bought a small towel to put in my purse.  I've never, ever carried a towel in my purse, but here it's a pretty common item.  And the funniest part is I have no idea why I bought it,  but I have to admit it has come in handy more often than I expected.  

This past weekend I finally got to sing kareoke in a real kareoke place!  It was a life changing experience, and I want to go again as soon as possible... actually I think I am going again this weekend.  I opened with my usual: You may be right (Billy Joel).  Then I sang: The girl from Impanima (the female solo), La tortura (Shakira featuring my other boyfriend), Gasolina (Daddy Yankey), Top of the world (Carpenters), 99 Luftballons (German version, just for kicks!) and some others... I forget them all!  So fun!  Before that, I had my picture taken in one of those picture booths where you can draw all over the picture and make it really gaudy and ridiculous looking!  It's such a Japanese thing to do, and I also thoroughly enjoyed myself and carry the pictures around in my wallet to look at whenever I am feeling down!  I wish I could scan them and upload them to this blog so that everyone could see them! 

Well, I am feeling tired and want to upload some pictures for you, so I am going to stop writing for now.  Just two more days before the weekend... I can't wait!




Leave a Reply.