Time Enough
 
Since I haven't been able to get onto a computer lately, I have been writing mostly in my journal.  So I decided to type my latest journal entry in to share with you all.  It's from yesterday afternoon.

Martil, Morocco  24 Sept 2009

I had a lazy morning this morning.  I stayed in bed until 11 or so, my head filled with crazy, heavily populated dreams.  I once read in a popular Psychology magazine that dreams act as an emotional stabalizer.  In our dreams we work through emotions we may be having - or struggling with - during the day.   So much so that if we don't finish the dream and resolve the emotional issue, the feelings of frustration or anger or whatever will linger throughout the day.  How kind are dreams, who know exactly just what we lack and aim to give it to us with their powerful images and imaginative powers.  I have found that my own dreams go as far as to seek a linguistic balance as well, speaking to me in the language that I have been speaking the least.  So it is no surprise that last night, my dreams had an all-star cast of real and imaginary people, clamouring at me, wanting my attention.  I woke up this morning content with the quiet solitude of my empty apartment.

I made myself a nice breakfast and even prepared some coffee for lunch.  Since I did not have a coffee maker, I made one using a strainer and some paper towels.  The coffee turned out ok, definitely palitable, although a little weak and with an aftertaste of paper towel.  I do like living this way though: simply, creatively.  And afternoons, like this one, at the beach.  After my paper towel coffee, I made a quick call to Koichi before heading out to Martil, the beach about 10 minutes away from Tetouan.  So here I am now, drinking a "Hawai" (NOT "Toilet" as the waiter first thought I said) watching the Mediterranean waves crash on a litter-filled beach surrounded by canoodling couples.  The weather is nice.  Barely any clouds, but there is a nice, warm breeze.  The beach is prettier than Ceuta's - bigger and with silker sand- but the litter makes everything look cheaper from close up.  There are big mountains that jut out into the sea at either end of the beach, making it feel like you are in the embrace of some giant sea monster.  Small cafes, pizarrias and ice cream shops run parrallel along the beach, in medium-sized buildings whose alternating jutting and recessed balconies give the unbalanced look of a losing game of jenga or tetris.

Enough descriptions for now.  I need to enjoy the last remaining rays of sunlight before heading home for the night.
Picture
Picture
alan farabaugh
9/28/2009 09:57:30 am

Wow! I haven't visited your blog in a while. I have a lot of reading to do to catch up.
love you and miss you
Dad

Reply



Leave a Reply.