Time Enough
 
Another week is over, and with it another month.  Time has been flying by as my days fill up with work and classes and meetings and activities.  I am really happy with the things in my life right now.  But since everything is still so new here, and therefore just a little bit harder, I find I need a little more rest than I have been giving myself.  Just walking down the street takes more energy than usual, so I need extra time curled up in bed with a book, or sprawled out on the sofa in front of the TV to compensate.  As long as I get that time, I feel ok.  If I don’t, I start to feel really overwhelmed and stressed out and a little bit miserable. 

Miserable.  When I start to feel that way, I know it’s all in my head, because my current situation could hardly be described by such a word.  Wonderful, relaxed, positive, satisfying… these are the words that really describe my life right now.  Tomorrow, I’m planning on taking my camera around town with me to take pictures of a typical day.  I’ll post them on my blog so you can see what a typical day is like: what my neighborhood looks like, the schools and cafes  I go to, where I buy my groceries, and just exactly who and what I see every day as I walk around town.  I think it will be an interesting experiment for me.  Will I remember to take pictures at important moments throughout the day?  Will I feel comfortable flashing my camera around town all day?  Will other people mind that I’m taking pictures of seemingly mundane things, like convenience stores and cafes?  I’m also curious to see what my life will look like, photo documented, labeled and in chronological order.  Will I recognize it as mine?  Will I like what I see?  Enough build up.  I need to go find a way to charge my camera battery for tomorrow (I don’t have the proper wattage converter.  The one I have is only for heat-producing electronics like irons and blow driers!) and I am also meeting a friend at a café in a half an hour, and I am still in my pajamas!  Hasta mañana  إلى الغدا




Leave a Reply.