Time Enough
 

I'm feeling a little nostalgic right now.  You might say it's homesickness, but that's not quite it.

I have been studying Japanese every day for a few hours after work.  Usually, I watch these educational videos made by the NHK that I found on Youtube.  They are perfect for me.  I come home from work too tired to do any actual studying, so I just sit in front of the computer and watch these funny, entertaining videos that teach me Japanese.  I have never, ever had such a passive learning experience, and I really liked it.  It was relaxing, enjoyable, and yet I was still learning Japanese.  But tonight, I watched my last video.  I have officially graduated to Let's Learn Japanese 2, but unfortunately, due to copy write laws, that one is not available on the Internet.  I guess I should back up and say that these videos were made a year after I was born, so the chances of me finding the second videos in the series seem pretty slim.  Plus, I heard the second series was not as good as the first (but this is from Doomsday Wikipedia.  Does anyone else think Wikipedia takes the most negative approach to things?), and also the actors are different.  And I really like the actors, especially Sugihara-san.  She was funny.  I'm gonna miss her.... sigh... Hence, my nostalgia.  I am feeling nostalgic for yesterday, heck for 10 minutes ago, when I still had videos left to watch.  Hmmm, so depressing... so dorky.

I wish they made videos like this for Arabic.  This was no Khaled and Maha love story.  In the NHK videos, the people talked to each other instead of giving awkward, somewhat lulling monologues to the camera.  Looking back on those DVDs from Arabic 1, that was so wierd.  Who's idea was that?  Thinking about that story line, it still makes me feel uncomfortable.  What was going on with Khaled?  What was going on with Khaled and Maha?  What was going on with Maha and the video's director, because s/he seemed obsessed with her hazel eyes.  I hope someone from Arabic Club is reading this, because I am sure I am boring everyone else to tears.   

Ok, enough tangents for today.  I need to look for some new studying tools!  :-)

Christine
7/16/2009 07:02:29 am

I always thought the same thing about the weird monologues! And you're right, he did focus a lot on her eyes!

Reply
Alaina
7/17/2009 02:14:37 am

Haha, I am glad you thought the same. Someday when we are fluent we will have to make our own educational videos!

Reply



Leave a Reply.