Time Enough
 
I always wondered what kind of langauge learner I was.  In linguistics classes, I learned that there are traits a good language learner has, and I would always try to figure out which category I fell into.  There was the category that seemed to imply that (pardon my paraphrasing) extroverts made better language learners.  It always depressed me a little.  I don't think I am an extrovert.  Sometimes, I prefer listening to talking.  I would pressure myself in language situations to be more outgoing and talk as much as I could.  But when, for whatever reason, I didn't have the energy to do so, I would feel guilty about wasting a good opportunity, and not being a better language learner.  This has been going on inside my brain for years, but just the other day, while walking down the street, I remembered another thing I learned while teaching Spanish at the University of Pittsburgh.  Listening comes before speaking.  To be a good speaker, you have to be a good listener.    If you are super active all the time and speak at every opportunity, when do you get to listen?   

I am not about to write a theory of second language acquisition based on this experience, but it does make me feel more justified in my approach to language learning.   All roads lead to Rome.  The important thing is to keep walking.
1/30/2010 10:45:39 am

In learning Spanish and Portuguese I always found my speaking abilities developed far quicker than my listening. I guess it's because in speaking my vocabulary might be a few hundred words (at the time) with a few tenses available, while in listening there were thousands of words and far more tenses.

That said, getting beyond the basic communicative skills requires listening ability - and tons of practice. My speaking abilities in Spanish are still stronger than my listening, but they're getting closer to equilibrium with time.
-Robin (mary's friend)

Reply



Leave a Reply.