Time Enough
 
There are many reasons to celebrate the independence of a formally colonized country.  Tonight I am celebrating the part where I don't have to work tomorrow.  November really is a month of holidays in Morocco.  We celebrated the Green March two weeks ago, and next week is the two-day long Eid al Adha... great news if you like long weekends, bad news if you're a sheep.   I had plans to go to the movies with some friends tonight.  Really, I had planed to go to the MOVIE, singular, because there is only ever one movie showing at the main movie theater in town.  So, I had arrangements to meet a few friends for the late showing, after my night class let out.  At 9:45, I arrived at the movie theater only to find that there would be no 10 pm showing, because there were no people to watch it.  So we decided to try the other theater in town, just a short, walkable distance away, which was showing a Bollywood film.  I had never been to this other theater, but it has a reputation in town as being a place for lovers.  However, in my two previous experiences at the "good" theater, I would say most of the people there were much more interested in their companion than the movie, so I don't really understand why only one gets a scarlet letter.  In any case, we decided to check out the Bollywood movie (subtitled in Arabic... ) but alas, it too was closed.  So, what else is there to do at 10:00 on a Tuesday night in Tetouan?  Go home, do some yoga andpop open a bottle of wine in your pjs, and eat some Canadian chocolate that your roommate got in the mail today.  In the end, it's just as well.  I really shouldn't be spending a whole three dollars on a movie ticket right now anyway.

Despite my movie capers, today was a great day!  I had a great Arabic lesson in the morning, worked on some tile designs this afternoon, chatted with a friend over coffee and sweets, then headed home and had a great conversation with Koichi on Skype.  My class this evening went really well and I think everyone really enjoyed themselves, I met a coworker for a pizza and had a great, meaningful conversation, and then walked around town with some friends before finally coming home, where I had wine and chocolate waiting for me.  And best of all, tomorrow is a holiday, and I am going to Spain!  Let me say it again.  I am hopping a cab and traveling one hour to Spain tomorrow.  I can't even remember how many times in my life I have wished I could say that sentence.  Tomorrow, I am going to Spain. Me voy a España.  كنمشى ن اسبانيا  I wrote about it, wished for it, literally dreamed about it, and tomorrow, I'm gonna do it.  Wow.  Right now it seems like all dreams need is a little patience.  But, I think there is something more than patience.  So right now, I would like to give a pat on the back to myself last year, two years ago, three years ago, for making good decisions that allowed me to make my dreams come true, while at the same time making me think with hindsight that it had been easy.  And, I would like to thank the many people who helped me get here, like my loving family, my sister's cooking, my boyfriend, the cab driver tomorrow, the academy.  Come to think of it, there's lots to celebrate tomorrow.  Moroccan independence, no work, the realization of dreams, supportive friends and family, taco bake... so whatever day it is that you read this blog, declare this moment a personal holiday, and celebrate it any little way you can. 



Leave a Reply.