Time Enough
 
Think back to my apartment in Japan.  Remember the photos?  A talking, self-heating toilet, a bed I could cook from, sparkling white floors I could eat off of, a lovely view of a brick wall and a strip club, a 40 minute commute on a packed train... now put that image down, flip it and reverse it.  There you have it, my apartment in Tetouan!  It is in virtually every way the opposite of my place in Hon Atsugi: a broken toilet seat, a living room so big it echoes, a cockroach body count that's currently up to three, a breathtaking view of the Rif mountains, and an easy three minute stroll to work.  It's a perfect example of my own personal motto: it's not better or worse, it's just different.

And generally speaking, I like different. 

So let's get to the good stuff.  Let's see the pictures:
Picture
The view from the balcony.  It's a nice sized balcony that gets plenty of sun!

Picture
The kitchen.  In several ways this place reminds me of my apartments in Spain.  For one, it has the exact same water heater I had before.  The doors with the big useless knob in the middle is also very Spanish. 

Picture
The bathroom with the broken toilet seat.  I am going to Moroccan Ikea today to buy the replacement!

Picture
The lovely living and dining room.  A family of birds live in/above the window, and I can hear them nesting at night.  It freaked me out at first, but I'm getting used to them! 
There is also satellite TV, so we have lots of channels, including one called Fox Series which has shows like CSI Miami, The Simpsons, ER and Desperate Housewives.  I also like watching the channel simply titled "Sudan" because it's unlike anything I have ever seen on TV.

Picture
My bedroom. I took this picture right after I moved it, but now I have more decorations up and it feels like home!

alan farabaugh
10/5/2009 01:52:16 am

You are such a gifted writer! I truly enjoy your journaling. It heightens my traveling with you in spirit.
Dad

Reply
shauna
10/6/2009 04:17:31 pm

i miss you, angel. i want to talk to you. you are amazing. i just caught up on all of your blog. honestly, i was a couple months behind, which makes senses since i feel like life's been non-stop since i got home from guam. so so much i want to talk about...did i mention that i miss you? xoxo

Reply



Leave a Reply.