Time Enough
 
 Another first day of class under my belt, and yet my students never cease to surprise - and entertain me!

Just like I did in Japan, I asked my students to brainstorm some questions to ask me- any questions at all.  The questions they come up with are always entertaining, like when a Japanese student asked me if I was Anne Hathaway (which Anne Hathaway he meant I still don't know).  Well, today my Moroccan students were no exception.  Here are the highlights:  "How tall are you?" (5 feet 3 inches.  Can I give the answer in meters?  Nope.) "Are you married?" (No.  Next question.)  "Do you have a boyfriend?" (That's private. Next question.)  "How old are you?" (89. <sigh>  Next question.)  "What's your shoe size?" (7 in the US.  38 here.)  "Have you got lost in Tetouan?" (Not really.  I just walked until I saw something I recognized.) 

My students are really cute.  They are younger than I am used to, mostly high school aged, although I have one class with a 10 year old and 30 year old.  The 10 year old is sweet.  While marking her down for attendance, she looks up at me, gives me a big grin and says, "We are going to be a good class!"  "Yes," I said to her, "I think you will be a great class."  And you know what?  They were.  This class was beginner 4, but I also taught an intermediate 2 of 15 and 16 year olds, including one who was celebrating her sweet 16 by coming to my class.  I had them do partner interviews to get to know their classmates, and so when her partner asked her old she was, she got very serious and called out to me, "Teacher!  Today is my birthday.  Today I am 15 or 16?" 


This week has been pretty crazy.  Me roommate Mary arrived on Saturday, and we have been busy nesting and getting lots accomplished.  We have food, internet, a fixed toilet, an unclogged (kind of) shower drain, some extracurricular activities, a few kind Moroccan friends and a laundry lady.  Not bad for a first week!  Mary has a blog of her own, so feel free to check it out:  maryofarabia.blogspot.com 

I want to write more but need to do my Arabic homework for tomorrow and it's already midnight! Stay tuned: more pictures and anecdotes to come!  And keep the comments coming! Bslama!



Leave a Reply.