Time Enough
 

Hi guys!  I need your help!  It has recently been called to my attention that I write my Japanese letters out of order.  This got me to thinking.  When you write the letter 't', what line do you write first: the horizontal or the vertical line?  Take one second and write your answer in the comment box on this blog post.  I will tell you more about why I am asking this question after I get some feedback from you!

Thank you!

Rebecca
7/8/2009 08:03:46 am

Definitely vertical. Every time. I like polls: Let me know how it goes! Also, I love you. And I love reading your blog. xoxo

Reply
Angie
7/10/2009 12:16:24 pm

I also go down and then across. sometimes not to cross until the word or sentence is complete. (i think it saves time)

Reply
Meredith
7/14/2009 08:04:19 am

I always go down and then across left to right. Hey, I quit and I'm moving to Chile on July 29! Let's stay in touch at [email protected], ok? I hope Japan is awesome! Mer

Reply
Paul
7/14/2009 09:49:49 am

Vertical first- if I did the horizontal first I'd probably forget what the hell I was doing.

Reply
MOM
7/15/2009 04:05:06 am

I always start with the vertical line and then "cross" the t horizontally. Seems that's what your poll is indicating

Reply
Christine
7/16/2009 07:03:45 am

top to bottom, left to right :)

Reply
Alaina
7/17/2009 02:22:06 am

Thanks to everyone who replied! I was hoping that a native speaker of another tongue other than English would answer, especially someone who uses a different alphabet (ie. Arabic club, you failed me. hehe!) In Japanese, you go horizontal first, then vertical, and it's a big deal if you do it wrong. Subsequently, I noticed that my students do this when they write in English too, and when I asked Koichi, he said he did the horizontal line first too. Interesting, right? So the convention in English seems to be vertical then horizontal. I bet you do this a hundred times a day, but never knew it was a learned behavior!!! Crazy!

Thanks again to all those who replied, and feel free to add more comments about this if you want, especially if you think you know of an exception to this rule!

Reply



Leave a Reply.